Mind map scene Monologue, Character: Gilderoy Lockhart

I had multiple dialogues/monologues that I was thinking about for this assignment:Thumper from Bambi; Alpha, Beta and Gamma from Up!, Darth Vader’s famous ‘I am your father’-scene from Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back, a scene from the BBC Sherlock series. When looking for dialogues and monologues I noticed I especially liked ones that were funny, probably because I like humor in movies and especially in characters. That seemed to be the kind of character I wanted to animate: a funny character. So, eventually I went with a monologue from Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets: Gilderoy Lockhart was going to be my character. When trying to think of a scene I wanted to put my character in I made a mind map. With this mind map I also researched his character a little more:mindmap lockhart

While making this mind map I was thinking of different ways I could show my character and if I should change his character slightly: I could keep his character and have him showing off his house and himself, or if I changed his character I could make him a villain. For a while I was set on the latter. I wanted to have my character in a office (or something like that) talking and introducing himself to someone he had tied to a chair. I would change his character through his movements and surroundings. That seemed really interesting, but I started thinking again and I really wanted to return to my ‘fun’ character. I think I was initially afraid I’d (unconsciously) copy the original. However I knew I could make it without it looking like the original. Of course I wouldn’t copy it.

So, Gilderoy Lockhart is a cocky, self-absorbed, charming (to some), show-off. With this in mind I continued researching movement. I was planning to let the movements guide me and the creation of the surroundings.

Leave a Reply

