Character Animation: character research

To understand how my character would move I did some research on arrogant and cocky characters, but also on regal characters like princes from ballets. My character need to think that he is above everyone else, move around smoothly and regally, but not be too over-the-top with his movements. Big movements don’t seem to fit with the monologue, but maybe that’s because I have the original clip in my head. I’m going to try out different movements and see what’s appropriate.

Gaston, Beauty and the Beast (1991):

Gaston is such an arrogant character. He truly believes that he is the best and most amazing person in the world, and in a way my character also feels that way. My character shouldn’t care about others. Maybe only about others’ opinions, but other than that he should only think about himself. Gaston’s way of moving and checking his reflection is exactly the kind of character that I want.

Miguel and Tulio, The Road to El Dorado (2000):

Miguel and Tulio are very expressive in their movements, and that may be what I could do for my character. In the original clip Gilderoy Lockhart doesn’t express himself in body-movement as much as he does with his voice. I may try to make him more expressive with his body. Miguel and Tulio are great examples for that, especially when they pretend to be gods.

Prince Charming, Shrek 2 (2004):

Prince Charming is cocky, and just like Gaston he believes he’s the best and most beautiful person in the world. In this clip he doesn’t move that much, but his facial expressions and the power he has in his voice can be used as inspiration for my character animation.

I chose a couple clips from ballets, because the way the dancers move around is so regal and beautiful and is how I may want my character to move: regally. The arm movements are what I like the most in these dances. I would like my character to also use his arms a lot to express his ‘arrogance’ and ‘awesomeness’.

Prince Florimund, Sleeping Beauty (ballet):

Manuel Legris, Sleeping Beauty (ballet) (1999):

Leave a Reply

