Character Animation – Animatic

There are things I’d like to change on this animatic, but because of time I’m going to make those changes when animating. I’ll be using this animatic as reference.

After watching and analyzing all of the videos I previously posted about, I acted out my scene. Pretty early on I kind of had an idea what kind of poses would work for the individual lines, but I found the transitions between these poses difficult. There wasn’t really a flow in the moves. In the second half of the animatic you can also see that it doesn’t flow as well as the beginning. The beginning could still do with some changes, but the second half is slower and more static. So, I’ll have to work on the flow when I start animating. I’ll research movements a little more to get the flow.

A clip I have in mind when thinking about smooth transitions and movements is from Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs 2:

Cloudy With A Chance of Meatballs (2) has such smooth animation and really nice character animation. Compared to what I what this animation may be too fast in the transitions, but I can use a clip like this as inspiration for my own animation and tone it down to the speed I like.

Leave a Reply

